Do You Know the Day That Changes Your Life?

The day that changes your life.

Without exception, it is the day most of us anticipate.

To some people it is the day they gain their first million dollars. To others it is the day they get the position they always desired. And to some others it is the day they become free, financially and emotionally.You get to see and feel what you always desired to have.

But are these really the moments that change your life forever? They seem so on the surface, but in reality they aren’t. They are nothing but the result of a change that happened at one day of a person’s life who achieves his desire of becoming happy, free or wealthy.

These results will never occur until you had that one day.

The day you realize that you are capable of far more than you ever believed.

The day you realize that you are destined to be more than you always told yourself to be. The day that you start to believe in yourself.

Throughout history, there are numerous accounts of great men and women that tell the same story.

It was early in the 19th century in London when a young boy put labels on bottles in a rat-infested warehouse and slept in a murky attic with two boys. He didn’t have any self-confidence in his writing that one night he sneaked out of the house so no one could see him send his first manuscript to the editors. Days went by when the boy didn’t receive any answer and the cloud of doubt was weighing heavier with every day on the boy’s shoulders. Until one day; The day when the story got accepted by an editor. The editor didn’t pay the boy anything. He praised the boy by printing his story and gave him something more valuable than any shilling he could pay him: the belief in himself and in his art. Wouldn’t it have been for the praise and recognition he received from getting one story in print, we wouldn’t know about this boy today. His name was Charles Dickens.

One day a teacher asked Les Brown to answer a question on the board. After Les repeatedly told his teacher that he couldn’t do it because he was labelled emotionally mental retard by the doctors, his teacher said something that would change Les’ life forever:

“Don’t ever say it again. Someone else’s opinion about you does not have to become your reality.”

From that day, it didn’t anymore. Les took out into the world and changed millions of lives by his motivational message that you can become everything in life you desire.

A 6th grade teacher gave Jay Z his love for words by telling him that he was smart. From that day he believed her and his whole life took a new direction.

“I’m a success today because I had a friend who believed in me and I didn’t have the heart to let him down.” – Abraham Lincoln

If someone else’s positive belief in a person turned an Abraham Lincoln or Jay Z into what they have become, what could a positive belief change within you?

In fact, this happened to me, too. Let me share with you a personal story.

Growing up I had no self-confidence and many times created my sense of self from the eyes of other people. Because I listened to the negative comments of people I made their opinion my own reality. But there were few teachers who believed in me. Amongst them was my gym class and German teacher Mr. Breick, whose words planted the belief in me that I am by far greater than I thought I was at that time.

One day playing basketball in gym class I was surrounded by many members of the other team, throwing a 3 pointer from the corner of the field or losing the ball to the team being my only options. Throwing a 3-pointer was something I have seldomly done before, not thinking about that tremendous distance I was staying at in  that moment. But I didn’t want to disappoint my team. I took all my courage, closed my eyes and hoped that shot would lead to something great. As I landed with my feet on the ground I saw the ball going perfectly through the net. What happened the next moment would change my world forever. All of a sudden Mr. Breick jumped off the bench, with his fist raised in the sky, shouting to me “I KNEW you can do that, Lukas!”, filling the whole gym with his enthusiasm. From that moment I was on fire.
I kept nailing one shot after another, Mr. Breick shouting at me from the side with shouts of the most profound belief I have ever witnessed before. That this teacher kept applauding me in front of the whole class and believing in me when I didn’t was the greatest gift I’ve ever gotten. From that day I would not let my teacher down.

I didn’t realize it back then, but that day changed my life forever.

The lives of millions of people changed because at some point in their lives there was a person who saw something in them they didn’t see in themselves.

What is the lesson we must draw from that?

It is of crucial importance that we see possibilities in people. Not only is it important that we see these possibilities, but also that we utter our belief to these people. Because some of our words may be the ones that will bring a next Lincoln into life.

Because this is about your day, how could I leave you without a special? So here’s your task for today:

Think about a person close to you whom you always admired but never told him or her about. Think about a person within whom you saw something greater than that person saw within himself or herself at that time.

Write down the name of that person with a specific characteristic you admire a lot about. It may be his writing skills, or it may be her ability to create deep connections with people. Pick up the phone and call that person. Tell him or her you want to do something exciting and meet together.  Get together with that person and tell that tiny extraordinary something you never told him or her before.

The philosopher John Dewey said that the deepest urge in human nature is the ‘desire to be important’. Show the person next to you that what he does is important to you. Show the person that what he does matters.

Imagine what the world would be like if we all believed more in ourselves. How far could we get as individuals and how far would the world be? Contribute your part to that and start to tell people that you believe in them.

You will be surprised how much people long for belief in themselves. Be their angel and pick them up when they need you, because the best thing you can teach a person is not a specific knowledge or formula. The greatest gift you can make a person is to rediscover the belief in himself.

It is not the day you open your own business that changes your life and it is not the day you win the big cup.

The day that changes your life is the day you realize that you are possible.

To your greatness! Let today be an expression of your best self!

Lukas

What do you think?

