How to Boost Your Happiness – INSTANTLY

Do you know the feeling when someone asks you for your help, be it a beggar asking you for spare money or a stranger asking you to carry something, and you say no? How do you feel? As you walk away, do you also feel detached inside, a feeling of dullness coming over you, covering your sense of well-being like clouds cover the sun?

I do. Because every opportunity you’ve missed to help, is your missed opportunity that you could’ve made the world better, and yourself happier.

That’s why I created a new habit.

“Everytime someone asks me for help, I give it to him or her, freely and wholeheartedly.”

That’s it.

Everytime someone asks me for money, I give it to him. Everytime someone asks me for advice, I share it with him. Everytime someone has a troubled mind and needs someone to listen to, I take time and listen. And even when I reckon I don’t have time, I try to spare at least a second. Then I look the person in the eye, give away my smile, and say sincerely that I would love to help, but unfortunately need to go.

We all have our own troubles and we all fight our own wars within. To give someone your time and just listen is the greatest gift you can make any person.

So share! Because as the saying goes: “sharing is caring”.

Since I learnt the lesson of sharing, I am a much happier person, everyday.

And do you know what’s best about it? Even if you’re unhappy and you give, you will become happier.

Next time you complain about all the negativity around you, give your positivity to the people. If people have been rude to you, give them your kindness. Whatever you wish for, be the change you want to see in the world.

“Happiness is the only thing that doubles when you share it”

Albert Schweitzer

Try to become more aware of opportunites you could help everyday.

If you see an old woman carrying heavy bags across the street, go there and help her without asking. If you have any knowledge others would love to know about, share it with them. If you see a child being bullied, go there and help him out. If you see an adult in grief sitting on a bench, sit down and just listen. I guarantee, you will be much happier than you were before.

“To know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived—this is to have succeeded.”

Ralph Waldo Emerson

Because at the end of your life it will not be the cars you drove and the money you had on your bank account. At the end of your life it will be about the moments that took your breath away and the lifes you touched.

What do you have that you could give away?

2 thoughts on “How to Boost Your Happiness – INSTANTLY

  1. I commend you on this outlook in life! Not many people are this generous with time and money. I must admit, I have been one of those people who say no to beggars, and with the reason that I cannot help everyone. Living in South Africa which has a high level of poverty, there is always someone at a traffic light or stop street begging at your car window. Sometimes I give, most times I don’t. And yes, it does leave one with a yucky feeling.

    I think this is a wonderful approach to life and you will be richly rewarded for it! Keep doing what you doing!

    • Ahhh, your comment is life in itself! Thank you for this Deevra! 🙂

      Your example of such an extreme like South Africa is a very good point. Thank you for bringing this to conversation.

      Indeed such extremes confront us straight with the fact of our limited ressources of energy and time. In such cases it is crucial to know where our barriers lie – and to help from inside these boundaries (not judgemental, but your energetic boundaries). You cannot give your attention to all of those people. If you really want to help all these people, starting a charity would be a great solution. However, we don’t necessarily have to start our own charity. 😉 The key is to change the world one person at a time with the ressources that we got. Resourcewise sharing is key.

      Unfortunately it is very common in westernized countries that we don’t help beggars for instance, because we heard bad stories about them. I sometimes catch myself thinking the same. But then again, who am I to judge if this person needs the money or not? In any case, I have helped this person by sharing.

      Sometimes people say they don’t have the money to help. It does not have to be always money to give away. I oftentimes say something encouraging to those people or help them with advice. Mentioning a book that changed your life could also change another person’s life. Encourage the person in need to go to the library or even try to buy it in the future. 🙂

What do you think?

