How To Jumpstart Your Day

This year has been the most productive in my life.

Personally and professionally I cannot think of any more successful time in my life.

By the end of 2012 I decided to make 2013 my best year. So I sat down at my computer and researched the internet and books on ideas to improve my productivity.

I came across an abundance of great ideas and applied them over the last few months. Eventually, after few trials and errors and some tweaking, I came across a way that works for me.

By far the most rewarding habit was the creation of a morning routine. This really changed the game for me.

Today, I want to share it with you.

So here it is:

My Morning Routine

  • Wake up at 6 a.m.
  • Envision major goals in my life.
  • Go to the bathroom and wash my face.
  • Exercise (muscle workout, running or swimming).
  • Eat breakfast.
  • Shower.
  • Set 2 to 3 Most Important Tasks (MITs) for today.
  • Start the day with one MIT

The MITs I set for the day are tasks with the highest urgency. These are the tasks that I MUST finish today. There are several other things I do during the day, but by pointing out the MITs for the day I get clear on what I have to do. Focus is everything and I did not come across any better concept than identifiying your MITs for the day. My MITs are the first things I do during the day. That way I finish the day knowing I finished the most important thigns and came closer to my goals.

Another thing why I love this routine is that it pumps me with energy and positivity for the rest of the day. By envisioning and seeing myself in my future goals I lift myself up, get focused on what I want to achieve and rise with a smile. Exercise chases the last bit of fatigue out of my body and fills me with energy and joy. It feels great to do something good for my body from the beginning of the day.

I know that hearing to get up earlier doesn’t pump you up at once. Don’t worry! I’ve been there, too. But watch this: Imagine you would eventually get up one to two hours earlier than you usually do and use it constructively to lift yourself up from the first moments of your day – how much more would you finish during the day? How much happier would you be? How much more fulfilled of a person would you become having finished more of the things you wanted to?

In the past I usually got up by 8 in the morning. What I did over the last months is simply to set my alarm on 7 o’clock and used the extra hour to establish my first morning routines. It was WAY easier than I expected. Once that worked for me, I started to wake up at 6:30 am. Now I wake up at 6 am – happier and fresher than I ever did in my life.

The best thing of all? I finish all the things I never got time during the day already in the morning when everyone is still asleep! This way I got time for myself and treat myself well without any distraction.

I own the day – with clarity, positivity and energy.

Start your day as positive as you can. For the one who greats the day with a smile wins the day from start.

To your happy mornings!

Do you have a morning routine? Share it and leave a comment!

Dream big, laugh often, choose courageously.

-Lukas

What do you think?

