The True Purpose of Life

Life is a test and you pass if you can be true to yourself. To get the first question correct, all you have to know is who you are. A life is just one letter away from a lie.

– Neil Strauss –

Here’s the thing.

When you and I were born, we were innocent. Pure. Beautiful and honest creatures who lived in a state of oneness with each moment.

As we developed our parents and those close to us loaded us with baggage. Some of us kept accumulating more and more of it. Trapped in beliefs and behaviours that kept us stuck the weight became too much to carry on. You became a shadow of the person you once were.

The true purpose of life is to let go of that baggage and become light and pure again.

To let go of the emotions holding you back: all the shame, grief, fear, desire, anger and pride you accumulated over your life.

To question everything you once thought to be true about yourself, people and the world. To let go of all the beliefs telling you that you are not good enough, that people will make fun of you if you show up as you are, that the world is a cruel place.

To let go of your can’t s and realize that what you once thought to be impossible for yourself was all the way possible.

We are onions in life. With each and every experience, life invites us to peel away one layer at a time to direct us inward. To let go of the veil of darkness to ultimately find the light inside ourselves.

On my journey I’ve found that a vital resource to peel away all your layers is your fear.

I used to be the shiest, most introverted guy the planet has ever seen. It was my fear of talking to people that was my greatest blessing. Once I started going out, questioning, challenging every single belief I had about myself, the people and the world, once I started taking action and turn my “I can’t”s into “I can”s my whole world changed. I let go of my fears of not being good enough and rejection. I let go of my beliefs that people were out to get me. I let go of my feelings of shame, grief, fear, anger, pride.

Through my darkest fears I found the brightest light inside myself.

I’ve found the love and acceptance I was looking for all my life.

I’ve found the magic I was looking for all my life.

I’ve found myself again.

And once I changed, everything changed.

Thus I say go into your deepest fear. Face it. Explore it.

Maybe you are a person who has been overweight and from which you suffered all your life. Maybe your health and appearance were the trigger for all the shame, grief, fear, desire, anger and pride in your life.

Maybe your appearance was the trigger for the beliefs you absorbed about yourself, the people and the world, holding you hostage in this way of life you never wanted to live.

Maybe your appearance was your own impossibility all the way in your life.

It may be that your health is the gateway to your own liberation.

Maybe you are a person who has been fearful and not trustworthy of people which brought you a lot of pain in your life. It may be that your fear of people and your fear of intimacy is the gateway to your own liberation.

May you always follow your fear. Beause on the other side of fear lies the part of you you’ve been looking for all your life.

It was in my deepest fears where I found all the holes that made me look for the love, the freedom, the appreciation which made look outside, resembling a thirsty wanderer in the desert.

It was through the transformation in my fears that I healed and sealed these holes.

It was through my deepest fears that I became whole again.

Only to fall down again and realize that there is much more I can learn. 🙂

Remember:

Life is a test and you pass if you can be true to yourself. To get the first question correct, all you have to know is who you are.

And with every experience in your life you are tested to be true to yourself.

To let go of the baggage you’ve been carrying around all your life.

To peel away one more layer that never was you.

To become innocent.

Pure.

Light again.

What do you think?

